MEET THE OSAY BOARD

We are honored to serve as your OSAY Board for 2019-2020. We are excited to bring a new year of events and opportunities to you as you navigate the waters of life here in Yokosuka!

44030307_288847305060262_722738688341049

Originally from Manhattan (the other, smaller one in Kansas, coined “The Little Apple” ha!), we were ready for some adventure and my spouse’s civilian position brought us here in 2015. Teaching English to every age group in Japan has been incredibly rewarding and enriched my cultural experience here. We will continue to knock out a list of To Dos including: hiking/buying snacks for hiking, exploring around randomly chosen train stations, snowboarding trips, traveling to nearby countries, and eating the amazing food Japan has to offer until late 2020. My sweet pup, Pepper (a shy Pit Bull mix), is my ride or die and snuggles like a champ. I’m always looking for a reason to drink another cup of coffee, so hit me up! 

Vice President

KELSEY BRAATEN

paula.jpg

Hey there! I'm Paula Hopkins and I grew up in Jamestown, RI.  I met my husband in Newport 18 years ago. We have 4 awesome kids and 1 crazy, yet, lovable dog.  After many, many, many moves, we are back in Japan for the 4th time! 

I am a former 4th grade teacher, but I now enjoy homeschooling my own kiddos,  There is nothing I love more than hosting parties so that I can spend time with wonderful friends, old and new.  Some of my favorite things are last minute get-togethers, coffee dates, a great book, a large order of french fries and exploring new places.  I look forward to meeting many new amazing people this year!

Events

PAULA HOPKINS

I’m Gierla Camille, but most people call me DJ. I look forward to working on events this year. I've been in Yokosuka for about a year now. My husband and I have one daughter, named Zolanie. 

 

 

I'm originally from the sunshine state of Florida. I graduated from Embry Riddle Aeronautical University and have spent most of my time working in management and as an event planner. I truly enjoy hosting and consider crafting to be my zen. In my spare time, I love creating new designs and exploring new wines with friends. 

Events

GIERLA 'DJ' CAMILLE

I’m Stevie and I’m originally from the suburbs of Dallas, Texas. I met my husband, Ian, while at the University of Texas at Austin ten years ago, and we’ve been married for six. We have been in Yokosuka since December 2018, but were previously stationed here between 2013-2015. I am currently working on a Masters in Social Work degree, so if you see me in Starbucks staring into a computer, feel free to say ‘hi!’ I love to travel, read, scuba dive, and be social. My husband and I have one cat (Mr. Neko), and are expecting our first child this December.

Events

STEVIE TAYLOR

2cherry blossom Alicia.jpg

Some of you might already know me from Bunco, or recognize me as the lady who broke her leg last year.  Not my ideal start to life in Japan, but what can you do? My husband, two kids and I have been in Yokosuka for about a year now. This is our first time living overseas and in base housing, 

I'm a full-time mom now, before that I was an event planner for Hyatt Hotels. My hometown is San Diego, CA.  I love to travel, break bread with friends, sail, craft and watch TV shows with characters who have accents, usually followed by a good cry.  Without a doubt, OSAY was my lifeline this past year, I don’t think I would have survived a broken leg in a new country without all of these wonderful ladies & gents!

President

ALICIA

MEDINA-TRACEY

Koree.png

I'm from North Dakota, married to my sailor, Jason, for 11 years.  We've got 2 kiddos, Logan & Avery and have been in Yokosuka since July 2018.  I'm a Navy veteran, and RN for 16 years in various specialties.  I'm not currently working (my husband laughs when I say I'm retired, I'm not sure why!) and am quite enjoying being a stay at home mom for the first time.  My days generally consist of GTL (that's Jersey Shore lingo for all you non-fans).  Gym, Tacos and laundry.  Actually, make that GTLD.  Gym, tacos, laundry, and dishes!  We live off base and have a tiny washing machine and even tinier dish washer.  We love living here in Japan and being a part of the Yokosuka community.  We're trying to maximize our time here by seeing and doing as much as possible.

Secretary

KOREE GOFF

Hello! I’m Erin Waite, my family and I have been in Japan for a little over a year and have loved every second. My husband and I are originally from New England and love the Boston Red Sox. In my previous life (before kids) I used to trade stocks, bonds, and manage other people’s money. Now I look forward to taking care of OSAY’s finances. This our first time living overseas, so we are trying to see, taste, and do everything. So I’m always up for a new lunch spot! We have three kids who keep me on my toes and keep me running from place to place. If I’m not at an OSAY event, you will most likely find me cheering for my kids on a sports field or at the pool, or volunteering at Navy-Marine Corps Relief Society. Welcome to Yokosuka and we look forward to meeting you.

Treasurer

ERIN WAITE

Hi Everyone! We moved to Yokosuka in January of 2017, with our two children. My father was also in the Navy, so I've been living this Navy life for quite a while! I'm very curious and ask a lot of questions, and I have a lot of answers for all your Navy questions!

 

I enjoy traveling, reading and spending time with my family. I love meeting new people. I'm very excited to serve on the board again this year and make new friends!

Membership

MACEY CLARKSON

Hey all, I’m Liz and I’ve been in Yokosuka since January 2019 with my wife Sarah and our two kids. I spent most of my childhood in Germany, which helped develop my love of travelling! Before kids I worked in the nonprofit field, primarily with youth and families involved in Foster care. Right now I’m the official taxi driver, maid, cook, and project coordinator for our family, which is definitely more exhausting than any other job I’ve had! While we’re here in Japan I’m excited to see all the cool spots and eat all the delicious food!

Communications

LIZ KLENKE